New Contact Email

Tuesday, September 25, 2007

Palin elected chair of Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Gov. Palin was elected today to a one-year term as chairperson of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC), an interstate organization consisting of 30 member states and seven associate member states. She succeeds Gov. John Hoeven (R-ND), and past chairmen include presidential candidates Mike Huckabee and Bill Richardson. While several Alaskan governors, including Palin's two immediate predecessors, have chaired the commission, none were elected so early in their tenure. In fact, only one other first-year governor has chaired the IOGCC recent memory, Bill Richardson (in 2004) , and he was a former U.S. Secretary of Energy. Before him, you have to go back to 1987 to find someone elected IOGCC chair in their first year (George Sinner of North Dakota).

This election secures Sarah Palin's place as one of the nation's top experts on energy issues and a leader among her fellow governors. It also puts her at the head of "the oldest, largest, and most effective interstate compact in the nation."

Click here to read the IOGCC press release on Gov. Palin's election.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments: